N.W.A, Donna Summer season, Gladys Knight & Extra to Receive 2024 Recording Academy Lifetime Achievement Awards: Paunchy Checklist

Other 2024 Special Advantage Award honorees consist of Laurie Anderson, The Clark Sisters, Tammy Wynette and Peter Asher.


MC Ren, DJ Yella, Eazy-E and Dr. Dre of the rap group NWA pose for a portrait in 1991 in New York, New York. DJ Yella is giving the center-finger.

Al Pereira/Michael Ochs Archives/Getty Photographs

Laurie Anderson, The Clark Sisters, Gladys Knight, N.W.A, Donna Summer season and Tammy Wynette are the Recording Academy’s 2024 lifetime success award honorees. Furthermore announced on Friday (Jan. 5), Peter Asher, DJ Kool Herc and Joel Katz are trustees award recipients; Tom Kobayashi and Tom Scott are technical Grammy award honorees; and “Refugee,” written by Okay’naan, Steve McEwan, and Gerald Eaton (a.ok.a. Jarvis Church), is being honored with the right song for social trade award.

The Recording Academy’s 2024 Special Advantage Award honorees, as they are collectively recognized, will possible be saluted at a Grammy Week ceremony on Feb. 3 on the Wilshire Ebell Theatre in Los Angeles.

“The Academy is honored to pay tribute to this year’s Special Advantage Award recipients — a worthy group of creators and industry mavens whose affect resonates with generations worldwide,” Harvey Mason jr., CEO of the Recording Academy, said in a assertion. “Their contributions to song span genres, backgrounds and crafts, reflecting the rich differ that fuels our artistic community. We see ahead to honoring these song industry trailblazers subsequent month as fragment of our week-lengthy party main up to Music’s Ideal Night.”

Two of this year’s honorees are recent Grammy nominees. Laurie Anderson is nominated for finest historical album for Words & Music, Might perchance well also 1965 (Deluxe Edition). Karen Clark-Sheard of The Clark Sisters is nominated on her occupy for finest gospel efficiency/song for “God Is Smartly suited.”

Four are being honored posthumously – Donna Summer season, Tammy Wynette, Eazy-E of N.W.A, and sound engineer Tom Kobayashi.

Right here’s a transient see at this year’s 11 Special Advantage Award honorees:

Receive weekly rundowns straight to your inbox

Signal Up

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button